What Are Some of Florida’s Motorcycle Laws?
Because risks of motorcycle accidents are high, taking every precaution possible is wise — including abiding by Florida’s motorcycle laws. In the event you suffer serious injury in a motorcycle accident, a Jacksonville motorcycle accident attorney can help you recover damages from all viable sources of compensation.
Under Florida Statutes Chapter 316, the following rules apply to individuals riding motorcycles:
- Motorcycle headlight required during the daytime
- Operators required to wear eye-protective gear
- Operators and riders must wear helmets that meet U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) standards
- Safety helmets not required for riders over age 21 with a minimum of $10,000 medical insurance
- Handlebar height must not be higher than the top of the operator’s shoulders when seated on the motorcycle
- Operators are prohibited from overtaking and passing vehicles while in the same lane
- Operators are prohibited from operating a motorcycle between traffic lanes or rows of adjacent vehicles
- Other motorists must not deprive a motorcycle of full use of a lane
- Motorcycles operators can ride two abreast in a lane
- Foot rests and seats for motorcycle passengers are required
- Motorcycles must have turn signals
- Minimum auto insurance required: $10,000 per bodily injury; $20,000 total bodily injury; $10,000 personal property damage liability; $30,000 single limit liability
Insurance is frequently inadequate to cover all your medical expenses involved with a motorcycle accident. By working with a motorcycle accident attorney in Jacksonville you can exhaust all possible resources to cover damages.
The Gillette Law Firm offers a free consultation to discuss your motorcycle accident and how we can help.