Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Gillette Law, P.A. Your recovery is my goal
  • Call us Today!
  • ~
  • Free Consultation

Brunswick Personal Injury Attorney

What you should know before filing a personal injury claim in Georgia

Gillette Law, P.A. has the knowledge of the law and the experience with personal injury lawsuits needed to ensure that clients receive the best possible representation after an accident or injury. Our Brunswick personal injury attorney explores every avenue of legal recovery available to you and explains the laws that affect your ability to successfully file a personal injury claim in Georgia or Florida. We provide you with the information and insight you need to secure the maximum amount of compensation to which you are entitled.

Determining degree of fault in Georgia

Personal injury cases can get confusing. Georgia is a comparative negligence state, which means that courts consider fault when determining whether an injured person is entitled to compensation for damages sustained from an accident or injury. If a judge determines that the injured person was more than 50 percent at fault in the events leading up to the accident, then the injured person may be completely barred from monetary recovery for the damages sustained during the accident. If the injured person was less than 50 percent at fault, the case can proceed to trial, where the court may award money damages to the injured person.

Justice delayed may be justice denied

When you have been injured in an accident, it is crucial to contact a Georgia personal injury lawyer as soon as possible. The statute of limitations limits the time you have to file your personal injury claim. If you have been injured, you have two years from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit. If you are a spouse or child of a family member who was injured or killed in an accident, you have four years from the date of the accident to file a loss of consortium claim.

There is an exception to this general rule for cases involving medical malpractice. The law extends the time you have to file a claim if you discover a foreign object in your body after surgery. In such a case, you have an additional year from the date of the discovery to file a claim, as long as the filing date does not exceed five years from the date of the medical procedure.

Call us today to discuss your case with an experienced Brunswick personal injury attorney

Gillette Law, P.A. is centrally located to serve clients in Florida and Georgia. The helpful professional staff is available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and at other times by appointment. Contact us online or call us at 904-600-4758. If you are unable to visit one of our offices, we can meet with you in your home or hospital room. We offer a free initial consultation and work on a contingency fee basis, so you pay on a percentage basis only when we win your case.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation