Brunswick Uninsured & Underinsured Motorist Attorney
Most of the drivers on Georgia roads are either uninsured or underinsured. Even though there is a mandatory auto insurance law on the books, the Peachtree State has one of the highest percentages of uninsured drivers in the country. Furthermore, Georgia has one of the country’s lowest auto insurance minimum requirements. Bodily injury coverage might be as low as $25,000. In many cases, that’s not even enough to pay for the medevac ride to the hospital.
In contrast, the Brunswick uninsured and underinsured motorist attorneys at Gillette Law have vast resources. We bring all of them to bear in every claim we handle. These resources include on-staff investigators and legal assistants. Furthermore, we have a stable of doctors, mechanics, engineers, and other professionals we work with on a routine basis. All this staffing allows us to obtain maximum compensation for your serious injuries.
Insurance agents aggressively sell these policies. Because the premiums are relatively low, many vehicle owners buy them. If the tortfeasor (negligent driver) does not have enough insurance to cover the claim, the victim’s own UM/UIM policy might make up the difference. These policies also apply in hit-and-run claims, as outlined below.
Typically, insurance companies treat their customers like a good neighbor as long as they regularly pay premiums and don’t file claims. So, disputes often arise when customers file claims. Usually, these disputes go to arbitration instead of trial. It’s usually illegal in Georgia for people to sue their own insurance companies.
The good news is that the insurance company is anxious to keep its paying customer happy. Therefore, these claims usually settle quickly, and on victim-friendly terms.
Coverage amounts vary significantly in different situations. Our Brunswick uninsured and underinsured motorist lawyers can review your policy and recommend a course of action.
A negligence claim isn’t just about obtaining financial compensation. It’s also about holding people responsible for the mistakes they make. That’s why hit-and-run claims are different from ordinary UM/UIM claims.
In most jurisdictions, law enforcement investigators solve fewer than 10 percent of hit-and-run accidents. Unless the tortfeasor voluntarily confesses or there is a great deal of evidence immediately available, most investigators quickly give up and move onto other projects.
The burden of proof comes into play here. Criminal court prosecutors must establish guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. That’s the highest standard of proof in Georgia. Personal injury attorneys must only establish liability by a preponderance of the evidence (more likely than not). That’s the lowest standard of proof in Georgia.
So, if an attorney identifies the vehicle’s owner, that might be enough to establish liability. It’s usually more likely than not that the owner was also the driver.
Evidence in these claims includes additional witness statements and nearby surveillance camera footage. As mentioned, we have the resources, such as investigators, to locate the proof the police overlook. We also have the skill to leverage this proof in court.
Contact a Hard-Hitting Glynn County Lawyer
All serious injury victims are entitled to fair compensation. For a free consultation with an experienced Brunswick uninsured & underinsured motorist attorney, contact Gillette Law, P.A. Virtual, home, and hospital visits are available.